Player Profile

John David Murphy

Buttevant Minors reign supreme   30/09/2016

Congratulations to Buttevant Minor Footballers who on Tuesday night won the Rebel Og County Premier 2A Minor Foootball Championship.
   Played in ideal conditions in front of a huge Buttevant contingent on an excellent Mallow pitch Buttevant overcame Bishopstown in an exciting and thrilling encounter.
   Buttevant got of to the perfect start when Ryan Fowley goaled inside the first minute. Scores were at a premium and at the short whistle Buttevant led on the scoreline 1-04 to 3 points.
 At the start of the second half Gavin Carey pounced for another goal and with 20 minutes remaining Buttevant were 8 points ahead. Bishopstown responded well and with 8 minutes remaining Buttevants lead was cut to 3 points. During this period Buttevant defended as if their lives depended on it and a point apiece for both sides was the finishing of the scoring.
The final whistle arrived and Buttevant were not to be denied and were County Champions.
Final Score Buttevant 2-07  Bishopstown 0-10.
Buttevant Team:  Diarmuid Doody, Michael Walsh, Jack O Riordan, Tadhg O Connell, Paddy Behan, Eugene Heelan, Brian Flynn, Kevin Lenahan, Niall Crowley, Jamie Whelan, John O Neill, Ryan Fowley, Gavin Carey, Denis O Sullivan, Mark Lenahan.
Subs: Dylan McAuliffe, Cian Carroll, Jack Heffernan, Thomas Shinnick, Jamie O Brien, Luke Whelan, David O Connor.
Well done to all players and management
 Pictures and match reports HERE


Club Sponsor


Latest Tweets